New to Fanatec

Erik EkErik Ek Member

Hi,

I am new to Fanatec and it is a bit overwhelming, however, this guide has ironed out my basic questions; https://boostedmedia.net/technology/2020-fanatec-sim-racing-buyers-guide/

Still, I would find it much helpful to verify my tentative purchase here on the forums. I am on Xbox X only.

* Podium wheel base DD1/2

* ClubSport Steering Wheel Formula V2.5 X: To my understanding, if upgraded with the Podium Advanced Paddle Module, such combo would be function/quality-wise be equal to the PS-only Podium Racing Wheel F1®?

* Clubsport V3 pedal set: If used in this rig, https://www.playseatstore.com/f1-black-2017.html, I assume the inverted version is most suitable?

* What mounting item should I purchase?

* QR2: I interpret it as the improvement of Q2 over Q1 is “only” to simplify shifting wheels on the wheelbase, correct? Also, the above rig would out of the box be QR1 but upgradeable to QR2, correct?

* Game support: Any input on how the rig functions with Codemasters’ F1 2021 and WRC10 (yes, I would consider a second more suitable wheel)?

Thanks!

Comments

• Gregg DomainGregg Domain Member
    edited October 2021

Regarding the Formula v2.5X (or any wheel on Xbox, really), you'll find that only the standard inputs will be functional. So, standard ABXY buttons, LB, RB, etc. only. Things like toggle switches and rotary encoders will either function as duplicates of other buttons, or will not function at all. Also non-functional are LED displays while in game, so no rev lights, no speedo, no flag LEDS, nothing. This is a longstanding issue (as in, years) and neither Microsoft nor Fanatec have ever really properly addressed it. All we get is a vague notice on the product page that certain features may not be fully functional, or something to that effect. According to some people, there are rumors that "something" is being worked on, but again nothing official, so don't hold your breath.