Round wheel advice?

Good day. I am looking for a round wheel (squared bottom like R300 probably ok) for my DD1 so I have an option other than the F1 style wheel. I will be using this in iRacing, rfactor, ACC, etc. - maybe even an occasional rally or oval race, you know, for fun. 😀 I also have a focus RS that I occasionally track, so I think it would be helpful practice.

Sorry for the randomness of my questions below on the ones I am considering, but I can't try any of these in person before buying and I am new to the Sim Racing world.

Anybody have feedback on the CS Porsche 918 RSR setup? I thought I saw somewhere that this wheel does not get updates, but I can't find that info now. Any issues with this wheel? Anybody have one and love it?

Another option is getting the R330 rim with a Podium hub and the CS button pack which I could pair with the stand alone shifter if/when it becomes available (or I could add the Podium Paddle setup). Is the a-la-carte path to building a wheel setup pretty straight forward? Any drawbacks? There is a similar pre-bundled setup in the US available with the R300 wheel, but I think I would like the R330 a bit more.

I also would consider the Porsche 911 GT3 podium, but it might be overkill for me, and it is quite expensive. Also not sure what the differences are with that and the slightly cheaper CS version.

Any other wheels I should be considering, or anything else I should be thinking of? I could also hold off to see what gets introduced later this year, but I am not always great at patience. 🤪

Thanks all!

Comments

• The full wheels with a few exceptions (Porche 918 RSR, BMW GT2, and Formula wheels) are just a combination of pieces. Hub + rim + buttons. I don't believe they don't come assembled, so you have to put them together whether you buy a la carte or not. Usually you save $50 - $100 or more though by getting the full kit at once instead of the individual pieces.