System doesn't seem to be recognizing my R300 wheel

Hello,

First, I'd like to emphasize that I am VERY new at this stuff, so my current problem is probably somehow self-inflicted, and I appreciate your patience with my complete lack of experience with sim setup. I have a DD1, Podium hub, and R300 wheel. I've loaded the 381 firmware package recently, and am going through the calibration procedures. I've (apparently successfully) done the motor sensor calibration, but based on the video from Will at Boosted Media that I'm following, when I attach my wheel, I'm supposed to get a message that says "This driver includes a new Podium hub firmware. Click OK to install now". But when I install my wheel, this message doesn't show up, and the Function Test page still shows a big red circle with a diagonal line through it in front of the picture of the wheel base. So it looks like the system isn't recognizing the presence of my steering wheel. Please advise. Thanks very much.

Comments

• Are you 100% sure you really fully pushed the wheel fully onto the base? ^^

• Aha! That was it! I thought I pressed the wheel firmly onto the hub, and tried a few times to press it on harder, with no success. So, based on your input. I backed off on the tightening nut a little, and tried it again, and this time it worked. I'm thinking I may have compressed the rubber sleeve a little, causing it to bulge, making it difficult to fully seat the wheel, and that seems to have done the trick. Thanks for the quick response! I'm sure this isn't the last dumb question I ask 😉

• As promised, I already have another question. Now that the steering wheel's firmware has been successfully installed, I went back to the Fanatec Wheel Property Page, selected my DD1 again, and a dialog box is supposed to pop up prompting me to install a new Podium Hub firmware. But I'm not getting this dialog box.