Setting up the max torque: suggestions don't seem right?

Hi guys,

Reading the suggested setups for all kinds of games, I thought something is off.

That is probably not the case because I am no expert at all. But I do wonder.......

The thing is, that the maximum torque (for a Podium DD1) is set in the Fanatec software to -lets say- around 40% for most games. When I try that and see the torque bar in several games, there is clipping.

When I set it to a 100% and lower it to 40% ingame; there is no clipping. With the best will, I can't reach the upper bar.

So, what am I missing here? I figure I am wrong: if so many recommend this..... But why, how?

Comments

• With 40% FFB strength and a too high in-game FFB gain you will get clipping, sure..

Thats expected. So you would just need to lower the in-game FFB gain accordingly.

• Thank you Maurice.

I can see the clipping is for to much force, but what I meant was, what is better: 100 Fanatec and ingame (say) 40% or the other way around: 40% Fanatec and 100% ingame?

Because the second way is recommended it seems, but when I look at a graph that some games offer, there is clipping when I set it that way.

When I set it the first way, the Fanatec software to 100% and ingame at 40%, there is no clipping.

In my opinion, both ways offer 40%, right? Why does one clip and the other does not then? So, to my simple mind (when it comes to FFB ;) ) the way NOT recommended is better? And that just doesn't seem right.

• edited July 2023

Its actually quite simple, reducing the FFB strength in the Tuning menu reduces the available torque the motor can output, so 50% = 10Nm. When you now use a too high in-game gain then the expected result is clipping because the in-game gain wants to utilize more than the available torque of the motor.