Strong click or "twang" at random points

I'm new to DD wheels but not sim racing and have just started to use a DD CSL, the GT DD pro.

I'm experiencing something that is breaking the immersion and pulling me out the moment while racing.

I keep feeling a strong single click, or more specifically a single twang in the FFB. It's all sims (ACC, AMS2, Raceroom,RF2) and I'm not driving over a kerb or anything like that so it just feels really unnatural.

Just looking for advice if anyone recognises this sensation and can it be dialed out as its just spoiling the overall experience.

Comments

• Yes, I get this too.

After it happens it feels like ffb is weaker, but I'm not 100% on that. Often seems to happen during a change in direction

• Quite a few users have experienced this.

I noticed it within 20 minutes of playing and it seems to be related to the shaft moving inside the wheel housing.

I used the electrical tape fix to get rid of mine. Have a look through the forum for the word 'clunk" and you should find pics of where to place the tape. It's a simple solution that works.

The problem is almost certainly related to the plastic QR on the DD Pro GT wheel. It's allowing a tiny amount of movement during high FFB moments,

• No, this isn't a bit of play (and I've had a CSL DD RMA because of shaft play. This is different). This is a very strong FFB spike that comes with what feels like (and I think sounds like, but hard to say with headphones on) a "POP" noise. It's hard to know exactly what is causing this - I use the RHM ACC mod (real head movement), and that gets a ping at the same moment (a sudden jerky movement). Is the source from the software and both RHM and the CSL are reacting to it, or is the source from the CSL sending a spurious signal that RHM ACC then reacts to?

It is NOT related to the plastic QR as I get it and I'm using the metal QR1 with retaining screw fitted (without which you get all sorts of other creaking and loss of FFB detail).