GT DD Pro Wheel Rim Breakdown after many hours of use

edited January 2022 in Steering Wheels

I've finally had time to put 50+ hours into my GT DD Pro wheel over the past month, and I've seen so many concerns about the wheel rim itself that I thought maybe a detailed breakdown may be useful to someone.

I am a Fanatec newb overall. The GT DD Pro is my first Fanatec wheel, though I have been using the shifter, handbrake, and V3 pedals for several months prior. I also purchased a BMW GT2 V2 wheel rim to go with my setup which let me do a better comparison to a standard Fanatec wheel.

I have been using the GT DD Pro wheel rim 95 percent of the time so far as I only recently received my GT2 V2 wheel.

The price of the wheel is about $240.00 USD if we subtract the price of the pedals, Table Clamp, and the price of a CSL DD Base from the package, which is the comparable wheel base.

This is somewhat reasonable if we consider the features provided with OLED and Simplified Rev Lights, but the materials are not of the same level as the CSL Elite Steering Wheel WRC or the Clubsport Steering Wheel BMW GT2 V2.

However the GT DD Pro wheel does fall somewhere in the middle of these two wheels in terms of features. The materials consist of plastic, rubber, and the above mentioned OLED screen and simplified REV light parts. 

Sadly, Fanatec doesn't discount for package deals as far as I've seen, which is why I included a price breakdown.

Anyways... Here's a quick breakdown of what I like and dislike about the wheel rim. Some of it I found surprising.

Materials and build quality:

The plastic build is mostly solid outside of the D-Pad. I really don't like the D-Pad cover. It feels and looks cheap.

The wheel rim itself is solid feeling when using it. More than my G920 and surprisingly it's more solid than my GT2 V2.

This is probably due to its simple construction and diameter.